PAD Awards

2012 PAD Award Winners

Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award: Belinda Stillion Southard, University of Georgia, Militant Citizenship: Rhetorical Strategies of the National Woman’s Party, 1913-1920 (Texas A&M University Press).

Wrage-Baskerville Award (Top Paper): Josue David Cisneros, Northeastern University,  “Citizenship beyond Borders? Rhetorics of Hybridity and Cosmopolitanism in Contemporary Immigrant Protests.”

Robert Gunderson Award (Top Student Paper): Paul Henrickson, University of Wisconsin, “‘This Experiment upon the Theory of Human Rights’: America’s Founding as a Human Rights Republic.”


Wrage-Baskerville Award Winners

1986, Thomas Lessl, “Heresy, Orthodoxy, and the Politics of Science.”

1991, Thomas Lessl, “Francis Bacon and the Biblical Origins of the Scientific Ethos.”

1993, Gage W. Chapel, “Synthesizing the American Dream: The Political Rhetoric of Jack Kemp.”

1994, Lisa Bates-Froiland & James L. Cherney, “The Rhetorical Function of ‘Nature’ in Elizabeth Cady Stanton’s ‘Solitude of Self.'”

1995, John M. Murphy, “Inventing Authority: Bill Clinton, Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Performance of Rhetorical Culture.”

1997, Mark Allan Steiner, “Maladroitness in the Culture Wars: Portraits of the Public in the Internal Rhetoric of Operation Rescue.”

1998, Shawn J. Parry-Giles & Trevor Parry-Giles, “Meta-Imaging and the Hyperreality of American Politics: The War Room and the 1992 Clinton Campaign.”

1999, Andrew C. Hansen, “A Gentleman’s History of Geology: The Fall and Rise of Rhetoric in Charles Lyell’s Principles of Geology.”

2001, Trevor Parry-Giles & Shawn J. Parry-Giles,”Constructing Presidentiality: The West Wing and the Ideological Definition of Presidential Leadership.”

2002, David C. Deifell, “Performing The Idea of University: The Occasion, the Crisis and the Student.”

2003, John M. Murphy, “The Language of Liberal Consensus: John F. Kennedy, Technocratic Reason, and the ‘New Economics’ at Yale University.”

2004, Jason Edward Black, “Constituting the ‘Allotment Indian’: The Role of Paternal Rhetoric in America’s Dawes Act Era.”

2005, Mary Carver, “The Power of the Prophet Persona for Abolitionist Feminist Lucy Stone.”

2006, Lisa Keranen, Lisa Irvin, Jason Lesko, & Alison E. Vogelaar, “‘Myth, Mask, Sword, and Shield’: Dr. John H. Marburger III’s Rhetoric of Neutral Science for the Nation.”

2007, Robin E. Jensen, “‘For while my mother knows a lot, she won’t tell me a thing’: Ella Flagg Young’s Fragmented Rhetoric in Support of the Chicago Experiment.”

2008, Eric S. Jenkins, “The Towers of Babble and the Passage of the USA Patriot Act”

2009, Tammy Vigil, “FDR’s 1932 Commonwealth Club Address: Building Ethos by Offering Stability through Change.”

2010, Ronald J. Zboray & Mary Zboray, “I Have Said My Say: Ordinary Women and Partisan Speech Making in the Antebellum Era.”

2011, Timothy Barney, “‘Gulag-Slavery, Inc.’: The Power of Place and the Rhetorical Life of a Cold War Map.”


Robert Gunderson Award Winners

1993, Jean Goodwin, “The Appeal to Posterity.”

1994, Susan M. Zaeske,”The Promiscuous Audience: A Barrier to Early Woman Speakers.”

1995, Rebecca M. Townsend, “McCarthyism’s Rhetorical Norms.”

1998, A. Michele Mason, “Close Reading and the Text/Context Dilemma: A Subversive Account of the 1935 Harlem Riot.”

1999, Christina R. Foust, “Gender Myths and the Media Coverage of Hillary Rodham Clinton’s Involvement with Health Care: What is Woman’s Proper Place?”

2000, Steven E. Martin, “Anti-Conspiracy and Anti-Propaganda Rhetoric in ‘Joe Worker and the Story of Labor’: The Use of the Comic Book Form.”

2001, B. Wayne Howell, “Samuel Seabury’s Response to the First Continental Congress: Anomic Imagery in Appeals for Loyalty to Great Britain.”

2002, Heather Norton, “The Clinton Administration’s Depiction of the Modern Militia Movement Through a Rhetoric of Crisis.”

2003, David Dzikowski, “Locating Herbert Hoover’s Inaugural Address: Kairos and Genre in the Rhetorical Presidency.”

2004, Michael Lee, “George W. Bush and the Iraq Question: Analyzing a Moral Realist Perspective.”

2005, Melissa Barnett Cocian, “Using Functional Theory in Social Movement Rhetoric: A Thematic, Ideological, and Feminist Analysis of Women’s Suffrage Speeches.”

2006, Dru Anthony Williams, “Staying Committed to the Mission: Epideictic Argument and George W. Bush’s Performance in the 2004 Presidential Debates.”

2007, Josue David Cisneros, “Bilingual in Name Only”: Dissociation, Conspiracy Rhetoric, and the Campaign for California Proposition 227″

2008, Eric S. Jenkins, “The Towers of Babble and the Passage of the USA Patriot Act”

2009, Kashif Powell, “E Pluribus Unum: Barack Obama’s Use of Constitutive Rhetoric.”

2010, Sean Luechtefeld, “A Petition in Boots: Jacob Coxey’s Constitution of Citizenship in 1894.”

2011, Adam Gaffey, “The Rhetoric of Visualizing Washington’s Union: Commemoration, Flags, and the ‘Farewell Address,’ 22 February 1862.”


Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award Winners

In 2007, Angela Ray presented “The Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award and the Living Tradition of Public Address”

1993, James Jasinski, “The Feminization of Liberty, Domesticated Virtue, and the Reconstitution of Power and Authority in Early American Political Discourse,” QJS, 79, 146-164.

1994, Celeste Michelle Condit & John Louis Lucaites, Crafting Equality: America’s Anglo-African Word (University of Chicago Press).

1995, Martin J. Medhurst, ed., Eisenhower’s War of Words: Rhetoric & Leadership (Michigan State University Press).

1996, Robert Hariman, Political Style: The Artistry of Power (University of Chicago Press).

1997, Martin J. Medhurst, ed., Beyond the Rhetorical Presidency (Texas A&M University Press).

1998, James Darsey, The Prophetic Tradition and Radical Rhetoric in America (NYU Press).

1999, Thomas Rosteck, ed., At the Intersection: Cultural Studies and Rhetorical Studies (Guilford Press).

2000, Gerard Hauser, Vernacular Voices: The Rhetoric of Publics and Public Spheres (University of South Carolina Press).

2001, Michael J. Hyde, The Call to Conscience: Heidegger and Levinas, Rhetoric and the Euthanasia Debate (University of South Carolina Press).

2002, Davis W. Houck, Rhetoric as Currency: Hoover, Roosevelt, and the Great Depression (Texas A&M University Press).

2003, Kirt H. Wilson, The Reconstruction Desegregation Debate: The Policies of Equality and the Rhetoric of Place, 1870-1875 (Michigan State University Press).

2004, Susan Zaeske, Signatures of Citizenship: Petitioning, Antislavery, and Women’s Political Identity (University of North Carolina Press).

2005, Lester C. Olson, Benjamin Franklin’s Vision of American Community: A Study of Rhetorical Iconology (University of South Carolina Press).

2006, Angela G. Ray, The Lyceum and Public Culture in the Nineteenth Century United States (Michigan State University Press).

2007, Trevor Parry-Giles, The Character of Justice: Rhetoric, Law, & Politics in the Supreme Court Confirmation Process (Michigan State University Press).

2008, Leroy G. Dorsey, We Are All Americans, Pure and Simple: Theodore Roosevelt and the Myth of Americanism (University of Alabama Press).

2009, Mary E. Stuckey, Jimmy Carter, Human Rights, and the National Agenda (Texas A&M University Press).

2010, Robert Asen, Invoking the Invisible Hand: Social Security and the Privatization Debates (Michigan State University Press).

2011, Lisa Keränen, Scientific Characters: Rhetoric, Politics, and Trust in Breast Cancer Research (University of Alabama Press).

One thought on “PAD Awards

  1. Pingback: Call for Nominations–2009 Nichols Award : NCA Public Address Division

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *