Images from the Eighteenth Annual Chemathon, May 11, 2002

Chemistry building lobby

Opening ceremony

Judging the crystals for the Threaded Ions competition

Chemical Jeopardy competition

We need brain power! (at the snack machine)

Threaded Ions Competition

First-year team winners, left to right: Joppatowne, Fallston, Allegany, John Carroll, Blake

Second-year team winners, left to right: Wootton, Watkins Mill, Joppatowne, Gov. Thos. Johnson, Fort Hill

Chemistry Signs competition on the theme "The Chemistry of Natural Toxins" - first-year teams

first place winner - Blake High School

second place winner - Watkins Mill High School

third place winner - Joppatowne High School

fourth place winner - Rockville High School

fifth place winner - Gov. Thos. Johnson High School

Chemistry Signs competition on the theme "The Chemistry of Natural Toxins" - second-year teams

first place winner - Walt Whitman High School

second place winner - Thomas S. Wootton High School

third place winner - Gov. Thos. Johnson High School

fourth place winner - Northern High School

fifth place winner - Fort Hill High School

Awards Ceremony

First place grand prize team, first year: Allegany High School

Second place grand prize team, first year: Watkins Mill High School

First place grand prize team, second year: Governor Thomas Johnson High School

Second place grand prize team, second year: Joppatowne High School

Coordinating Committee, left to right: Dr. Juliana Pax, Mike Zapf, Diane Schmit, Dr. Howard DeVoe, Eric Reinhold, Dr. Don Berkowitz, Doria Hillsman

Last Revised: May 31, 2002